The BIGGEST, HIGH PROFILE payment acceptance event in Europe

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Top industry leaders fostering their business relationships...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Continuous merchant-centric talks aimed to distinguish hype from reality...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

90 influential speakers shaping the future of the payment ecosystem...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Answers that move thoughts forward. Questions and real-time interaction...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

A place where new commercial opportunities regularly arise...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

"Guiding Hands" statuettes brought from the hall of fame. For the best of us...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Networking during awards night. Get closer to the celebrities...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Industry movers and shapers. Formulating big ideas...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Socializing during the first night dinner. All under one roof...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

Talk, talk, talk...Productive networking at its best...

8th annual, February 17-19, Berlin

MPE Awards overview


Dear payment professional,

The Merchant Payment Ecosystem Awards (MPE Awards) are the successor to the prestigious ECAF Awards. Its history began in 2010 as the first awards to recognize the outstanding role of card acquirers, processors, PSP’s and respective solution providers and to honor companies and individuals who help moving the industry forward.

Reflecting the market change, the renamed awards broadened their scope in 2012 to also cover new players on the payment acceptance scene – mobile and online payments companies, mpos providers, payment methods, young and promising startups, industry disruptors and innovators as well as outstanding individuals with special achievements in the payment acceptance area…

The last prestigious MPE Awards Ceremony took place on the evening of February 19, 2014 in InterContinental Berlin Hotel.

You can read about the ceremony, the winners and why the jury has chosen them by clicking here...


Merchant Payments Ecosystem - Awards Winners 2014


Join us in search for the best performers and innovators in the payment acceptance arena, people and firms that have significantly contributed to the development of in-store, online and mobile payment acceptance in Europe and worldwide.   



Proceed directly to the 2015 MPE Awards enrollment process or get answers below in the FAQ section.


When is the deadline for submissions?
You can enter the contest until February 2, 2015. 

Important note: Contestants enrolling for the Innovation Corner at MPE, aspiring to win the „MPE Innovator of the Year“ award, should submit their entries also until February 2, 2015. Also, their submission process and overall management differs from the rest of the award categories. Please refer to the MPE Innovation Corner section to see the steps and eligibility to enter. 

What companies can enter the contest?
Any company qualifying as part of the payment acceptance value chain worldwide.

Who can submit an entry?
Anybody working as part of a team or department responsible for a particular solution/service (one to become a subject of the entry), a marketing, communication or PR specialist whom has been appointed this task or who is generally responsible for awards submissions.

How do we enter the awards?
The sole process of sending the application is done via an online form and is thoroughly described in the next section as well as the steps you need to do before you actually submit anything.

How many categories can we enter?
You can enter maximum of three categories.

Can we enter the same category/categories or submit information about the same product/service as for previous years?
Yes, you can enter the same category/categories with the same or different product/service. You can also enter category/categories you have not attended before with a product/service you have previously used. However, if you previously won any of the categories, please also refer to the next point.

We won in previous years, can we also apply in 2015?
Definitely, the only condition here is that you cannot enter neither the same nor the rest of the categories with the same product/service you won with previously. However, you can enter the same category you won previously with a different product/service.

I won the „Acquiring Personality of the Year“ category. Can I win again?
Come on, give others a chance :-)

Merchant Payments Ecosystem - Frankie Posman as MPE Awards waiter
Should we win, who is the one to collect the prize?

MPE Awards is very prestigious and unique in its concept. Therefore, you should carefully consider your choice. The awards ceremony traditionally takes place on the second night of the three day conference. Since the conference itself is attended by senior representatives, there is a pretty good chance you already have the right person on spot. As winning parties are notified several days prior to the ceremony, you will have enough time to appoint the proper member of your crew to pick up your prize. If you won the „Acquiring Personality of the Year“ category, well, it is your call to take what is yours :-)

What is in for my company?
Recognition and prestige. You being the winner, it is our commitment to make sure your name is spelled in the organizer.
he major card and payments acceptance media after the conference. A separate PR campaign utilizing the world-class media distribution companies follows your success hand-in-hand with social media coverage performed by us,

What is the prize itself?
We do not hand out laser-engraved glass or „wannabe Oscars“. Instead, we have chosen to engage a highly skilled artists to create a unique statuette just for the purpose of these awards.

Three times in a row, Sofie Muller, an internationally recognized Belgian sculptor, shaped and casted a series of ten „Guiding Hand“ statuettes, one for each of the award categories ranging from 2010 – 2012. Each such piece, beside the symbolic value for the winning company or individual, represents also an individual piece of art of true collector value. Moreover, the statuettes‘ artistic value rises as soon as they are in the company of other „Guiding Hands“ from previous/future series. Therefore, winners possessing not one several  but several of these valuable pieces (individual artists may change over the years to come) should really keep their cabinet locked well ;) Sofie‘s work as the creator of the MPE Awards statuettes ended with the making of the third statuette in 2012.

A new artist, Slovak sculptor Peter Krupa, has accepted the challenge to materialize his „Guiding Hand“ idea for the year 2013, bringing metal to the forefront of the design.

In 2014 a Croatian artist Gordana Turuk created her new organic glass and gold plated statuette to please the eye of the winners… 

Who are the judges for 2015?
The Awards Committee consists of veteran industry professionals – independent consultants and journalists specialized in payments area.

Proceed to the 2015 MPE Awards enrollment process...