Merchant Payments Ecosystem - Awards

MPE 2020 > SAVE THE DATE > 18-20 Feb 2020

2020: SPEAK @ MPE


Join us in search of the best performers and innovators in the payment acceptance arena that have significantly contributed to the development of in-store, online and mobile payment acceptance in Europe and worldwide.

The MPE 2020 AWARDS Ceremony and Gala Dinner is a part of the 13th annual MPE 2020 (Merchant Payments Ecosystem) conference and exhibition, February 18-20, Berlin.

The MPE Awards Call for entries is open to both businesses operating in the merchant payments ecosystem and Merchants in 13 categories.

What is New for 2020?

The MPE Awards will be recognizing businesses in 3 newly added categories:


Entries are now being accepted for MPE 2020 Awards categories!

How to Submit Your Awards Competition Entries?

STEP 1: Download the Awards Brochure (to review the categories and measurement criteria)
STEP 2: Submit your entry online (Click on the button SUBMIT YOUR ENTRY below to get started!)

MPE Awards statuette
Download Awards 2020 Brochure

to see the list of 13 categories & criteria.
Before submitting your entry, get useful tips and increase your chance to win the Awards in the category of your choice!

Watch the MPE Awards webinar: How to improve your chances of winning the MPE award.

paypers logo
Official media partner of MPE Awards

Judge's Choice Awards

- featuring 11 Categories
Winners of the Judge’s Choice Award will be selected by the panel of independent expert judges.

  • Best Merchant Payments Initiative of the Year Award
  • Best Payments Transactions Service Provider / Processor Award
  • Best ID, Authentication, Security & Anti-Fraud Solution Award
  • Best POS Innovation / POS Software Payment Applications Award
  • Best Payments Partnership Award
  • Best Acquirer Award
  • Best Data Analytics, AI / Machine Learning Award
  • Best Alternative / Local Payment Method Award
  • Best Technical & Service Provider, Organisation Award
  • Best PISP, AISP Award
  • Best PAAS Provider Award

People’s Choice Award

- featuring 1 Category (MPE Influencer of the Year)
The winner will be determined via public online voting.


You can enter the contest until January 30, 2020.

Important note: Contestants enrolling for the Innovation Corner at MPE, aspiring to win the „MPE Innovator of the Year“ award, should submit their entries also until January 24, 2020. Also, their submission process and overall management differs from the rest of the award categories. Please refer to the MPE Innovation Corner section to see the steps and eligibility to enter.
Any company qualifying as part of the payment acceptance value chain worldwide.
Anybody working as part of a team or department responsible for a particular solution/service (one to become a subject of the entry), a marketing, communication or PR specialist whom has been appointed this task or who is generally responsible for awards submissions.
The sole process of sending the application is done via an online form and is thoroughly described in the next section as well as the steps you need to do before you actually submit anything.
You can enter maximum of three categories.
Yes, you can enter the same category/categories with the same or different product/service. You can also enter category/categories you have not attended before with a product/service you have previously used. However, if you previously won any of the categories, please also refer to the next point.
Definitely, the only condition here is that you cannot enter neither the same nor the rest of the categories with the same product/service you won with previously. However, you can enter the same category you won previously with a different product/service.
MPE Awards is very prestigious and unique in its concept. Therefore, you should carefully consider your choice. The awards ceremony traditionally takes place on the second night of the three day conference. Since the conference itself is attended by senior representatives, there is a pretty good chance you already have the right person on spot. As winning parties are notified several days prior to the ceremony, you will have enough time to appoint the proper member of your crew to pick up your prize. If you won the „Acquiring Personality of the Year“ category, well, it is your call to take what is yours :-)
Recognition and prestige. You being the winner, it is our commitment to make sure your name is spelled in the organizer.
The major card and payments acceptance media after the conference. A separate PR campaign utilizing the world-class media distribution companies follows your success hand-in-hand with social media coverage performed by us.
We do not hand out laser-engraved glass or „wannabe Oscars“. Instead, we have chosen to engage a highly skilled artists to create a unique statuette just for the purpose of these awards.

Three times in a row, Sofie Muller, an internationally recognized Belgian sculptor, shaped and casted a series of ten „Guiding Hand“ statuettes, one for each of the award categories ranging from 2010 – 2012. Each such piece, beside the symbolic value for the winning company or individual, represents also an individual piece of art of true collector value. Moreover, the statuettes‘ artistic value rises as soon as they are in the company of other „Guiding Hands“ from previous/future series. Therefore, winners possessing not one several but several of these valuable pieces (individual artists may change over the years to come) should really keep their cabinet locked well ;) Sofie‘s work as the creator of the MPE Awards statuettes ended with the making of the third statuette in 2012.

A new artist, Slovak sculptor Peter Krupa, has accepted the challenge to materialize his „Guiding Hand“ idea for the year 2013, bringing metal to the forefront of the design.

As of 2014 a Croatian artist Gordana Turuk created her new organic glass and gold plated statuette to please the eye of the winners…

MPE History